News & Events

Congratulations to our Chemistry Department CIC Award Winners!

Jaclyn Stewart (Prof. of Teaching), Russ Algar (Assoc. Professor), and UBC's Undergraduate Chemistry Society, have won awards at this year's Chemical Institute of Canada, Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition.

Jaclyn Stewart has received the CIC Award for Chemistry Education. This award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to post secondary education in Canada in the field of chemistry or chemical engineering.

Russ Algar has received the W.A.E McBryde Medal. This is awarded to a young scientist working in Canada who has made significant achievements in pure or applied analytical chemistry.

UBC’s Undergraduate Chemistry Societyhas received First Place for the Student Chapter Merit Award. This award is presented to recognize initiative and originality in the Student Chapter programming in chemistry.

Congratulations to all!