News & Events


Congratulations to Sheri Harbour!

Congratulations to Sheri Harbour as a recipient of the 2017/2018 Faculty of Science Excellence in Service Award.

Congratulations to Dr. Allan Bertram!

Dr. Bertram has been awarded a UBC Killam Research Prize. This award recognizes outstanding research and scholarly contributions. Allan's achievement will be recognized at UBC's annual Awards Reception in the spring. Congratulations Dr. Bertram!

Congratualtions to Dr. Jennifer Love!

Dr. Love is the recipient of the 2018 IntelliSyn RD Research Award. This CSC award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to medicinally relevant organic or biophysical chemistry while working in Canada. Congratulations Dr. Love!

Congratulations Tannaz!

Congratulations to Tannaz Ebrahimi!

The Macromolecular Science and Engineering division (MSED) has selected Tannaz Ebrahimi from the Mehrkhodavandi group as the winner of the 2017 edition of the MSED Graduate Award.

Congratulations to Dr. Roman Krems!

Dr. Krems has been awarded a 2016-2017 UBC Killam Teaching Prize. This honour is in recognition of Dr. Krems' s outstanding achievement as a teacher, and is a reflection of his enthusiasm for teaching and commitment to our students. Congratulations Dr. Krems!

Congratulations to the Perrin Group!

The Perrin Group has made the cover of Organic Biomolecular Chemistry for their work towards protein-like aptamers with a tyrosine side chain.

For cover and full article:

Congratulations to Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Russ Algar has been selected as one of the 2017 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellows. This award is given annually to the most promising scientific researchers working today in the U.S. and Canada. This is the second year in a row where the only Canadian Sloan recipient in Chemistry is at UBC. Congratulations to Dr. Algar on this achievement!

2017 Department of Chemistry TA Awards

The 2017 Department of Chemistry TA Award recipients are Rebecca DiPucchio, Nicholas Hein, and Benjamin Rawe. Congratulations!

Congratulations to Dr. Harry Brumer!

Dr. Harry Brumer has been awarded a 2016 UBC Killam Research Prize. This award recognizes outstanding research and scholarly contributions. Dr. Brumer's achievement will be recognized at UBC's annual Awards Reception in early April 2017. Congratulations Dr. Brumer!


Congratulations Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Algar has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Emerging Leader in Molecular Spectroscopy Award presented by Spectroscopy magazine.  This award annually recognizes the achievements of a talented young molecular spectroscopist who has made strides early in their career towards the advancement of molecular spectroscopy techniques or applications.  An award symposium will be held at the SciX conference this October. Congratulations Dr. Algar!

Congratulations Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Algar has been awarded the 2017 Fred Beamish Award presented by the CSC. This award is presented to an individual who demonstrates innovation in research in the field of analytical chemistry, where the research is anticipated to have significant potential for practical applications. Congratulations Dr. Algar!

Congratulations to Love-Ese Chile!

Love-Ese Chile, from the Mehrkhodavandi group, recently received the Macromolecular Science and Engineering division oral presentation prize at the 2016 Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition.

For more information:

Congratulations Dr. Curtis Berlinguette!

Dr. Berlinguette has been awarded the Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry.  Berlinguette leads a team of researchers committed to translating fundamental laboratory discoveries in solar energy conversion technologies to commercial products. His program led the recent development of an entirely new class of stable and high performance chromophores for mesoscopic solar cells, and invented distinctive protocols for accessing state-of-the-art heterogeneous catalysts that form hydrogen fuels...

Dr. Takamasa Momose awarded 2016 George C. Pimentel Award

Congratulations to Dr. Takamasa Momose!

Dr. Takamasa Momose has been awarded the 2016 George C. Pimentel Award for advances in Matrix Isolation Spectroscopy. The George C. Pimentel Award has been awarded since 2005 to scientists who have made significant contributions in the field of matrix isolation. The award was presented at the CPLT2016 conference which took place in Biarritz, France in July 2016. Congratulations Dr. Momose!

For more information on the award:

Dr. Harry Brumer has been awarded the B.A. Stone Award

Congratulations to Dr. Harry Brumer!

Dr. Harry Brumer has been awarded the B.A. Stone Award for Excellence in Plant Polysaccharide Biochemistry at the XXVIII International Carbohydrate Symposium that took place in New Orleans, USA, 17-21 July ,2016. The award is sponsored by Megazyme International ("a global leader in the development, manufacture and supply of analytical reagents, enzymes and assay kits for the food, feed, dairy and wine industries."

Congratulations to Dr. Mel Comisarow!

Dr. Comisarow has been awarded the 2016 Fred P. Lossing Award of the Canadian Society for Mass Spectrometry.  The Lossing award is the Society's highest honour and is given to individuals to recognize their distinguished contributions to mass spectrometry in Canada. The award will be announced at Canada Night in the Waters Suite at ASMS (Tuesday evening of ASMS) and formally presented at the 21st International Mass Spectrometry Conference to be held in Toronto from August 20-26, 2016. ...

Congratulations to the 2015/16 UBC Undergraduate Chemistry Society!

2016 CSC Student Chapter Merit Award

Congratulations to the UBC Undergraduate Chemistry Society for being awarded the Canadian Society for Chemistry Student Chapter Merit Award third year in a row! The award will be presented on Thursday, June 9th at the 99th Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition in Halifax. This award will be announced in the upcoming issue of ACCN, the Canadian Chemical News,

New Funding for Cancer Diagnosis

Chris Orvig, with colleagues from the BC Cancer Agency (François Bénard, BC Leadership Chair in Functional Cancer Imaging) and TRIUMF (Paul Schaffer, Associate Lab Director, Life Sciences Division and Caterina Ramogida, PhD 2015), has been awarded about  $719,000 in the Collaborative Health Research Projects (CHRP) program of CIHR and NSERC for their project "Theranostic Vectors to Treat Cancer with Radiometals”  which will combine the expertise of TRIUMF in radionuclide production and...

Congratulations Dr. Jay Wickenden!

Congratulations to Dr. Jay Wickenden who was recently awarded a 2015-2016 UBC Killam Teaching Award. UBC Science awards Killam Teaching Prizes each academic year to acknowledge outstanding contributions made by teaching faculty in Science. Nominations are made by students, alumni or faculty in recognition of excellence in teaching. Congratulations Jay! 

For more information:

Congratulations to Caitlyn Grypma De Jong!

Congratulations to Caitlyn Grypma De Jong. She is the recipient of the 2015/2016 UBC Killam Graduate Teaching Assistant Award​.

UBC’s Killam Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards have been given annually since 1996 / 1997. The award recognizes the valuable role that teaching assistants play in our undergraduate programs, sending an important message to students (both undergraduate and graduate) that UBC values teaching. With over 2000 Teaching Assistants working at the university,...