News & Events



On October 19 at 10:19 a.m., millions of people worldwide will practice how to “Drop, Cover and Hold On” during Great ShakeOut Earthquake Drills. British Columbians can join by registering for the 2017 Great British Columbia ShakeOut.

Participating is a great way for your family or organization to be prepared to survive and recover quickly from...

Exploring the Activity Space of Multifaceted Host Defence Peptides

Host defence peptides (HDPs) are polypeptide sequences found ubiquitously in nature that have garnered significant attention as alternatives to antibiotics. Originally appreciated for their direct antibacterial effect, recent work has revealed that many HDPs possess antibiofilm activity, anticancer activity and/or the ability to modulate the immune response of the host. Curiously, HDPs with potent activity in one arena are often weakly active with respect to other activities described for...

Congratulations to Dr. Laurel Schafer!

Dr. Laurel Schafer has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.The Royal Society of Canada is the senior collegium of distinguished scholars, artists and scientists in the country. The Fellowship of the RSC comprises distinguished men and women from all branches of learning who have made remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, as well as in Canadian public life. Congratulations Dr. Schafer!

Mechanism of a No-Metal-Added Heterocycloisomerization of Alkynylcyclopropylhydrazones: Synthesis of Cycloheptane-Fused Aminopyrroles Facilitated by Copper Salts at Trace Loadings

Congratulations to the Hein lab, who’s recent publication in the Journal of the American Chemical Society was just selected for a Spotlight review. This collaborative study brought together leaders in both synthetic (Richmond Sarpong) and computational (Dean Tantillo) to perform a detailed investigation on the mechanism of a “metal-free” heterocycloisomerization that forms annulated aminopyrroles. Through kinetic isotope effect studies and unexpected rate differences among starting materials...

Real-time HPLC-MS reaction progress monitoring using an automated analytical platform

Real-time HPLC-MS reaction progress monitoring using an automated analytical platform

Congratulations to the Hein lab for their article which made the cover of Reaction Chemistry and Engineering. The paper highlights their recently developed automated reaction monitoring device capable of unattended aliquoting, dilution, quantification, and identification of components via LC-MS in real time. The prototype allows for facile reaction progress analysis as a method to increase mechanistic understanding of complex catalytic systems. 


Link to Article:...

Congratulations to the Love and Schafer Groups!

Congratulations to the Love and Schafer Groups! A collaborative effort between these two groups dealing with C-H bond activation towards organophosphate synthesis makes the cover of Eur. J. Inorg. Chem. This work showcases the potential application of a metal complex for the synthesis of agrochemically relevant molecules and highlights the ability to form new metal–carbon and boron–oxygen bonds by addition of a simple borane (BH2R). Dr. Renee Man (Department of Chemistry, Nagoya University)...

Congratulations to Dr. Roman Krems!

Dr. Krems has been awarded a 2016-2017 UBC Killam Teaching Prize. This honour is in recognition of Dr. Krems' s outstanding achievement as a teacher, and is a reflection of his enthusiasm for teaching and commitment to our students. Congratulations Dr. Krems!

2017 Graduate Student Forum

Another successful Graduate Student Forum was held on April 11th 2017, funded by the CGSS and organized by the Graduate Student Initiative Committee.


Suzuki Elders Visit GreenChemUBC

Sharing a desire to create a thriving society through the use of sustainable practices, GreenChemUBC reached out to the Suzuki Elders and spread the word about green chemistry research aimed at solving our climate and environmental issues. The Suzuki Elders visited the department on Wednesday, April 5th 2017.

For more information on this event:

Congratulations to the Chemistry Ping Pong Championship Winners!

Congratulations to Cedric Chou for winning first place in the Chemistry Ping Pong Championship! He was presented with the winner's trophy by Department Head, Michael Wolf on March 31st 2017.



Congratulations to the Momose Group!

Momose Group and Chemistry EES/MES Shops Have Achieved the World’s First Magnetic Trapping of a Polyatomic Free Radicals

The Momose Group, in collaboration with the Chemistry EES and MES shops, has achieved the magnetic trapping of CH3 radicals in a vacuum chamber. After six years of development of a “coil gun” type magnetic molecular decelerator, they have successfully reduced the translational velocity of the radicals in a supersonic molecular beam from 340 m/s to...

Congratulations to the Perrin Group!

The Perrin Group has made the cover of Organic Biomolecular Chemistry for their work towards protein-like aptamers with a tyrosine side chain.

For cover and full article:

Congratulations to Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Russ Algar has been selected as one of the 2017 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellows. This award is given annually to the most promising scientific researchers working today in the U.S. and Canada. This is the second year in a row where the only Canadian Sloan recipient in Chemistry is at UBC. Congratulations to Dr. Algar on this achievement!

Congratulations to Dr. Roman Krems!

Dr. Roman Krems has been named a Distinguished University Scholar by the university. This prestigious distinction recognizes exceptional members of the faculty who have distinguished themselves as scholars.  Roman is the first faculty member in our department to receive this honor, and will keep this designation for the duration of his career at UBC.  Roman's achievement will be recognized at UBC's annual Awards Reception in early April. Congratulations Dr. Krems!

2017 Department of Chemistry TA Awards

The 2017 Department of Chemistry TA Award recipients are Rebecca DiPucchio, Nicholas Hein, and Benjamin Rawe. Congratulations!

Congratulations to Dr. Harry Brumer!

Dr. Harry Brumer has been awarded a 2016 UBC Killam Research Prize. This award recognizes outstanding research and scholarly contributions. Dr. Brumer's achievement will be recognized at UBC's annual Awards Reception in early April 2017. Congratulations Dr. Brumer!


Congratulations to Dr. Suzana Straus!

The Straus Group's work, recently published in Scientific Reports (Nature), has been featured on the HHV6 Foundation website. Congratulations to the Straus Group!

For more information:

Congratulations Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Algar has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Emerging Leader in Molecular Spectroscopy Award presented by Spectroscopy magazine.  This award annually recognizes the achievements of a talented young molecular spectroscopist who has made strides early in their career towards the advancement of molecular spectroscopy techniques or applications.  An award symposium will be held at the SciX conference this October. Congratulations Dr. Algar!

Congratulations Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Algar has been awarded the 2017 Fred Beamish Award presented by the CSC. This award is presented to an individual who demonstrates innovation in research in the field of analytical chemistry, where the research is anticipated to have significant potential for practical applications. Congratulations Dr. Algar!

Congratulations Dr. Katherine Ryan!

Dr. Katherine Ryan has been award the 2017 Melanie O'Neil Young Investigator Award, presented by the CSC. This award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to biological chemistry while working in Canada. Dr. Ryan is the inaugural winner of this CSC award. Congratulations!

For more information: