News & Events


Congratulations to Dr. Roman Krems!

Dr. Krems has been awarded a 2016-2017 UBC Killam Teaching Prize. This honour is in recognition of Dr. Krems' s outstanding achievement as a teacher, and is a reflection of his enthusiasm for teaching and commitment to our students. Congratulations Dr. Krems!

2017 Graduate Student Forum

Another successful Graduate Student Forum was held on April 11th 2017, funded by the CGSS and organized by the Graduate Student Initiative Committee.


Suzuki Elders Visit GreenChemUBC

Sharing a desire to create a thriving society through the use of sustainable practices, GreenChemUBC reached out to the Suzuki Elders and spread the word about green chemistry research aimed at solving our climate and environmental issues. The Suzuki Elders visited the department on Wednesday, April 5th 2017.

For more information on this event:

Congratulations to the Chemistry Ping Pong Championship Winners!

Congratulations to Cedric Chou for winning first place in the Chemistry Ping Pong Championship! He was presented with the winner's trophy by Department Head, Michael Wolf on March 31st 2017.



Congratulations to the Momose Group!

Momose Group and Chemistry EES/MES Shops Have Achieved the World’s First Magnetic Trapping of a Polyatomic Free Radicals

The Momose Group, in collaboration with the Chemistry EES and MES shops, has achieved the magnetic trapping of CH3 radicals in a vacuum chamber. After six years of development of a “coil gun” type magnetic molecular decelerator, they have successfully reduced the translational velocity of the radicals in a supersonic molecular beam from 340 m/s to...

Congratulations to the Perrin Group!

The Perrin Group has made the cover of Organic Biomolecular Chemistry for their work towards protein-like aptamers with a tyrosine side chain.

For cover and full article:

Congratulations to Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Russ Algar has been selected as one of the 2017 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellows. This award is given annually to the most promising scientific researchers working today in the U.S. and Canada. This is the second year in a row where the only Canadian Sloan recipient in Chemistry is at UBC. Congratulations to Dr. Algar on this achievement!

Congratulations to Dr. Roman Krems!

Dr. Roman Krems has been named a Distinguished University Scholar by the university. This prestigious distinction recognizes exceptional members of the faculty who have distinguished themselves as scholars.  Roman is the first faculty member in our department to receive this honor, and will keep this designation for the duration of his career at UBC.  Roman's achievement will be recognized at UBC's annual Awards Reception in early April. Congratulations Dr. Krems!

2017 Department of Chemistry TA Awards

The 2017 Department of Chemistry TA Award recipients are Rebecca DiPucchio, Nicholas Hein, and Benjamin Rawe. Congratulations!

Congratulations to Dr. Harry Brumer!

Dr. Harry Brumer has been awarded a 2016 UBC Killam Research Prize. This award recognizes outstanding research and scholarly contributions. Dr. Brumer's achievement will be recognized at UBC's annual Awards Reception in early April 2017. Congratulations Dr. Brumer!


Congratulations to Dr. Suzana Straus!

The Straus Group's work, recently published in Scientific Reports (Nature), has been featured on the HHV6 Foundation website. Congratulations to the Straus Group!

For more information:

Congratulations Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Algar has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Emerging Leader in Molecular Spectroscopy Award presented by Spectroscopy magazine.  This award annually recognizes the achievements of a talented young molecular spectroscopist who has made strides early in their career towards the advancement of molecular spectroscopy techniques or applications.  An award symposium will be held at the SciX conference this October. Congratulations Dr. Algar!

Congratulations Dr. Russ Algar!

Dr. Algar has been awarded the 2017 Fred Beamish Award presented by the CSC. This award is presented to an individual who demonstrates innovation in research in the field of analytical chemistry, where the research is anticipated to have significant potential for practical applications. Congratulations Dr. Algar!

Congratulations Dr. Katherine Ryan!

Dr. Katherine Ryan has been award the 2017 Melanie O'Neil Young Investigator Award, presented by the CSC. This award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to biological chemistry while working in Canada. Dr. Ryan is the inaugural winner of this CSC award. Congratulations!

For more information:

Congratulations to Love-Ese Chile!

Love-Ese Chile, from the Mehrkhodavandi group, recently received the Macromolecular Science and Engineering division oral presentation prize at the 2016 Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition.

For more information:

Congratulations to the Chemistry Undergraduate Society!

Dr. Michael Wolf presenting the CSC 2015 Student Chapter Merit Award to the Chemistry Undergraduates Society.  Presented to recognize and encourage initiative and originality in Student Chapter programming in Chemistry.

Congratulations Dr. Curtis Berlinguette!

Dr. Berlinguette has been awarded the Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry.  Berlinguette leads a team of researchers committed to translating fundamental laboratory discoveries in solar energy conversion technologies to commercial products. His program led the recent development of an entirely new class of stable and high performance chromophores for mesoscopic solar cells, and invented distinctive protocols for accessing state-of-the-art heterogeneous catalysts that form hydrogen fuels...

Dr. Takamasa Momose awarded 2016 George C. Pimentel Award

Congratulations to Dr. Takamasa Momose!

Dr. Takamasa Momose has been awarded the 2016 George C. Pimentel Award for advances in Matrix Isolation Spectroscopy. The George C. Pimentel Award has been awarded since 2005 to scientists who have made significant contributions in the field of matrix isolation. The award was presented at the CPLT2016 conference which took place in Biarritz, France in July 2016. Congratulations Dr. Momose!

For more information on the award:

Dr. Harry Brumer has been awarded the B.A. Stone Award

Congratulations to Dr. Harry Brumer!

Dr. Harry Brumer has been awarded the B.A. Stone Award for Excellence in Plant Polysaccharide Biochemistry at the XXVIII International Carbohydrate Symposium that took place in New Orleans, USA, 17-21 July ,2016. The award is sponsored by Megazyme International ("a global leader in the development, manufacture and supply of analytical reagents, enzymes and assay kits for the food, feed, dairy and wine industries."

Congratulations to the Perrin Group!

Congratulations the Perrin Group! The Perrin Lab's work on new approaches to fluorination for PET imaging makes the cover of Acc. Chem. Research - One quick step for 18F-labeling, one large step for PET Imaging.” Organoborates react rapidly with 18F-fluoride ion in water to afford 18F-labeled organotrifluoroborates; this enables single-step 18F labeling of molecularly complex ligands to create new PET imaging agents. Key to this technological...